Basic Training Course Description

The Life of Christ series is a linear study of the gospel of Matthew. These programmed instruction books constitute a complete introduction to basic practical ministry skills, biblical geography, basic doctrines, and Bible study methods. It is a holistic approach to church leadership training, presenting things in an easy-to-remember form. Each of these courses is designed to be studied in three months. The following is a general overview of course content.

Book 1 Introduction and Infancy

The focus of this course is an inductive Bible study, and covers Matthew, chapters 1 and 2. Students will learn how to:

  • Locate and describe key places on a map of Palestine.

  • Discuss and teach the events surrounding Christ’s birth and early life.

  • Give a basic outline of the gospel of Matthew and explain the theme of the book.

  • Explain the divinity of Christ, using selected Scripture passages.

  • Explain why God’s promises are not always fulfilled immediately.

  • Use God’s promises to help people in need.

  • Explain biblical doctrine concerning occult activities.

Book 2 The Year of Preparation

The focus of this course on chapters 3 and 4 of the gospel of Matthew. The students will learn how to:

  • Discuss and teach the events surrounding Christ’s first year of ministry.

  • Describe the steps of repentance.

  • Explain the relationship between Christ’s baptism and His death.

  • Explain how to overcome temptation.

  • Give Biblical evidence of the Trinity and the inspiration of the Scriptures, and describe the attributes of God.

  • Use the method of comparison to study parallel Scripture passages.

Book 3 The Year of Popularity

Course Three is a detailed study of Matthew 4 through 13. The student will learn how to:

  • Discuss and teach the events surrounding Christ’s second year of ministry.

  • Use the Bible study methods of analysis and synthesis.

  • Prepare a Bible study for a small group.

  • Explain how believers can face opposition.

  • Share a short personal testimony.

  • Interpret the parables of Jesus.

  • Explain guidelines for doing house-to-house visitation, leading a home Bible study, and planting a church.

Book 4 The Year of Passion

This course focuses on Matthew 14 through 20 and deals with the doctrine of mankind. By studying this course, the student will learn how to:

  • Discuss and teach the events surrounding Christ’s third year of ministry.

  • Relate the history and importance of the Passover.

  • Explain the image of God in man, the doctrine of sin, and the doctrine of angels and demons.

  • Apply the steps given by Jesus for restoring unity among believers.

  • Explain the purpose of discipline in the Christian family.

  • Outline a plan for family worship.

Book 5 The Last Week

Course Five teaches through Matthew 21 through 27. In the study of this course the student will learn how to:

  • Give a chronology of the events of the last week of Jesus’ earthly ministry.

  • Identify on a map, the significant places associated with the last week of Jesus’ life.

  • Explain the meaning of the Lord’s Supper.

  • Discuss the principal events of the Second Coming.

  • Explain the steps of consecration of the mind, emotions, and will.

  • Explain the significance of Jesus’ crucifixion and His triumph over Satan and the demonic world.

Book 6 The Resurrected Life

Course Six is a study of Matthew 28 and the book of Acts. The student, through this course will learn how to:

  • Give a chronology of the events surrounding Jesus’ resurrection and the beginning of the Church.

  • Discuss how to be filled with the Holy Spirit as described in Scripture.

  • Use Scripture to explain baptism, including who should be baptized and when.

  • Describe the proper attitude and acts of encouragement which should be directed toward a new believer.

  • State several principles of personal evangelism and how to give a gospel presentation.

  • Analyze and outline the book of Acts.